Adding blu ray drive to supermicro server 2U

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

NotAServerGuy

Jun 16, 2019
I am a noob with this stuff so I appreciate the help in advance.

I recently bought a supermicro server and I am hoping to upgrade the dvd drive to a blu ray burner. The drive that is in there is this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-UJ...sr_1_1?keywords=UJDA780&qid=1577534759&sr=8-1

This looks to be an IDE drive. Can I simply pop in another SATA drive? I have open SATA slots. I have an external LG SATA device but I can't get the server to recognize it from the OS (I am using Open Media Vault).

MiniKnight

Mar 30, 2012
NYC
Putting in a new SATA drive should work. The one you linked I don't think has the standard SATA connector or slim SATA or whatever. I would get something with standard connectors so it isn't hard to find cables for power and SATA.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Putting in a new SATA drive should work. The one you linked I don't think has the standard SATA connector or slim SATA or whatever. I would get something with standard connectors so it isn't hard to find cables for power and SATA.
My adapters were ~2" for this so not too bad if you had to go that route too

NotAServerGuy

Jun 16, 2019
Thanks so much for your reply. Just to be clear, the one I linked is the one that is currently in there. So in theory should any slim device fit in the same spot?

NotAServerGuy

Jun 16, 2019
My adapters were ~2" for this so not too bad if you had to go that route too
Thanks for your reply. Can you point me in the direction of these adapters? Or even a device that would work in the same spot? My fear is buying something and having it not be something that is compatible with the unit.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015