Drag to reposition cover

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

eduncan911

The New James Dean
Jul 27, 2015
eduncan911.com
These two Amp devices start audio synced and get async by time. Is there any setting to avoid something like this? Or should I focus on the devices?
I'm new to L3 switches as well, knowing the concept for some time though.

However, and I could be completely wrong here, the only "tuning" you can do with a switch is with larger packets called Jumbo Frames (and both devices must support it). IIRC, that only helps for very large file transfers - I don't see how that can help streaming though.

There's also some QoS tuning that can happen across VLANs. But if you haven't configured QoS (and you know you have because it required precise settings of what to prioritize in packets), then that's not an issue.

Network really wouldn't have much of an affect when it comes to eventually getting out of sync'd. This sounds more like application timing running on the devices.

IMO, start a new thread about this as I don't think it's network related.

fohdeesha

Kaini Industries
Nov 20, 2016
fohdeesha.com
yeah, the switching latency in that switch is ~400 nanoseconds. Things like QoS and buffers don't even come into play until you start pegging the port capacity to 100%, which I seriously doubt you're doing. most likely something with the applications

eduncan911

The New James Dean
Jul 27, 2015
eduncan911.com
What Router is everyone pairing these monsters with?

I'm in-between routers at the moment, having used Mirotik, Unifi USG, EdgeRouter, and rolling my own Linux versions with VirtualSwitch... I'm going to build my own again using custom hardware and Xen for isolation (like QubesOS). But for right now, I need a stop gap until I have the time.