Donated Equipment - Data Centre

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

johnberman

Dec 10, 2019
I work with a group of Radio Astronomers EAARO.ORG.UK and am about to start some projects (SETI, Satellite Ground Station and others) which will have quite heavy storage and processing requirements, we have been very lucky and been donated some equipment and racks (its quite old but free) - I have uploaded an txt list of the kit.

I am an IT project Manager so have a decent understanding but help logically grouping the equipment will be my first step – is this the right forum to get assistance ?

Regards
John

Attachments

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Hi John! Welcome to the forum.

Someone here I'm sure will be along soon that's experienced in your hardware, and give you feedback :)

You're in the right place

EffrafaxOfWug

Radioactive Member
Feb 12, 2015
Do those BL460c G6's come with an accompanying C7000 enclosure (along with network/storage fabric IO bays)? They're pretty much useless without it, and if you don't have the enclosures I'd seriously think about looking at flogging them. Obtaining new enclosures is a possibility but only if you can find them s/h for a good price; they're dead-end technologies being replaced by the Synergy series and there's little point in obtaining a service contract for firmware updates etc.

The G6 line is pretty old hat - they came out nearly 10 years ago now are are vastly outclassed in performance and especially power by kit in the last three years; as Patrick and this site has championed, the bang per buck and per watt on the Epyc line is nothing short of spectacular. Selling off your kit and buying/building some Epyc whiteboxes would be my preferred approach but that's going to depend on the people you have available as well as the specifics of your workload.

BeTeP

Mar 23, 2019