Which is the best OS for machine learning and deep learning

• Mac OS

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Windows 7

• Others

• Total voters
Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

frozen

Jul 29, 2017
Hello, I am a Mac user but I have also used Windows and Linux. I have a degree in AI many years ago but haven't worked on Machine Learning and Deep Learning. I am considering to replace my old computer and I am interested in learning Machine Learning and Deep Learning. Which is the best OS for Machine Learning and Deep Learning? What software do I need to install? Thank you.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
Ubuntu Linux w/ a NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti is what you want as of today.

Then, get into nvidia-docker which will make life extraordinarily easy.

Reactions: java and frozen

frozen

Jul 29, 2017
Thanks Patrick. I only have an old MacBook Pro at home. Considering to get a MacBook Pro 2017 15" or a lightweight laptop with a desktop PC. Will that be good enough if I choose the latest MacBook Pro and add an eGPU GTX 1080 Ti? Should I choose an enclosure that would allow me to add multiple GTX 1080 Ti for future proof? I suppose it is better to install the Ubuntu Linux natively rather than though an emulator. Am I correct?

Not sure if Thunderbolt 3 and eGPU will work on the MBP under Ubuntu Linux.

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
Thanks Patrick. I only have an old MacBook Pro at home. Considering to get a MacBook Pro 2017 15" or a lightweight laptop with a desktop PC. Will that be good enough if I choose the latest MacBook Pro and add an eGPU GTX 1080 Ti? Should I choose an enclosure that would allow me to add multiple GTX 1080 Ti for future proof? I suppose it is better to install the Ubuntu Linux natively rather than though an emulator. Am I correct?

Not sure if Thunderbolt 3 and eGPU will work on the MBP under Ubuntu Linux.