Dell Compellent SC200 enclosure?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

KalusOne

Nov 4, 2019
I have 24x 900GB 10k drives in there. I'm really new to this and have just managed to get FreeNAS up and running.

I didn't know that smart data showed temps, but I looked it up... the highest is at 69 degrees celsius and coolest is 49. It shows that the drive trip temperature is 85 degrees

jeffsays

Feb 5, 2019
10k drives are going to generate a lot of heat (that's about 120-160 degrees fahrenheit), so that behavior sounds accurate. you're going to want something that moves more air than noctuas.

FWIW i'm running the noctuas withmostly 5900rpm drives (WD reds/whites shucked from easystores) and a couple 6tb 7200 drives.

KalusOne

Nov 4, 2019
Ahh, ok. I really appreciate the advice. I suppose that's why they put those screamers in, in the first place. There really is no clear route for airflow through the shelf, especially with all bays filled... and from memory, there's no opening at the front of the power supplies either.

neb50

Aug 28, 2018
I am using mine with SSD's only so I have not seen any temp issues with the drives. I also currently have it off until I figure out how I want to use the SSD's so I don't have any long term data from it.

Bert

Mar 31, 2018
Can someone tell me which controller port on Xyratex/Dell HBA 1235 do I need to connect the SF-8088 cable coming from the HBA card? There are 3 ports and I couldn't figure out which one to use.

Last edited:

KalusOne

Nov 4, 2019
Can someone tell me which controller port on Xyratex/Dell HBA 1235 do I need to connect the SF-8088 cable coming from the HBA card? There are 3 ports and I couldn't figure out which one to use.