Help! I’m building a small FreeNAS server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Keenan Spillar

Nov 6, 2019
Hey guys! I’ll just warn you, I’m a newbie when it comes to server stuff so bear with me.

So I’ve built lots of computers in the past, and so I’ve decided I need a storage server for all my various video/photo/music hobbies to live in peaceful redundancy.
I want to run FreeNAS because I’ve fooled around with that a little bit, but I’m still at a loss with what hardware I should get.
My initial reaction is to just to put a low spec Ryzen chip with a b450 motherboard and like 8GB of RAM in a case. Also I’ve got 2x 4TB WD Red drives with plans to expand in the future. But I honesty can’t come up with any answers if this is a good spec sheet or not.

USAGE:
Back up files safely.
Fool around with a VM.
Maybe mess with Plex? Not sure what this entails though.

Thanks for the help guys!
Also I’m running gigabit ethernet

csp-guy

Jun 26, 2019
Hungary, Budapest
Hi!

Welcome here!

If you can get a used HP microserver N54L, i can fully recommend it to you, if you want a quiet and cheap solution. I have got one, it serves me very well in my home.

2 core AMD Turion CPU,16GB ECC RAM, 4 SATA bay, plus 5.25 bay slot.

1 16x PCIE slot.

Freenas boots from internal usb drive, I have 4x5TB in mirror, I plugged Intel X540T1 to PCIE-slot, and I am using it as freenas server.

I know, the CPU is not too strong, but I can get 3-4Gbit speed from disk array.

You can put the esata cable to inside the case, and using the motherboards 5th sata port you can plug totally 6 sata drives.

If you want to use freenas, ECC ram is highly recommended.

This is the cheapest solution up to 6 sata drives in compact size.