Drag to reposition cover

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

tommybackeast

Jun 10, 2018
Question on Best Practices in regards to fully Testing an incoming Brocade 7250-48p Switch.

Currently I have a Brocade 6450-24p but have run out of 1GB ports.

I am a noob; and my question is what CLI commands do I use with the 7250-48p to properly test the Switch.

Is there some CLI Diagnostic command?

I will happily spend the time plugging CAT6 cable into all 48 ports one-by-one if need be. /thank you

fohdeesha

Kaini Industries
Nov 20, 2016
fohdeesha.com
Just got my ICX7150's. From what I remember somewhere I read in this thread, you no longer need to get licenses right? Because they are basically perpetual. Mine did ask me for a 45-day evaluation though. Is that normal?

follow the update guide in the first post which covers all this

fohdeesha

Kaini Industries
Nov 20, 2016
fohdeesha.com
The high sampling rate is just for testing purposes :), the traffic to and from the connected server is about ~100 pps.
In a production environment, i would set it to 256 or 512. The high polling period is because i was looking at the sflow traffic using wireshark as well, and the packets containing interface statistics were quite annoying to filter.
The cpu usage of the switch is below 5 %, while snmp is using 66 % of the cycles, so im outlining heavy cpu usage as the cause of my problem.
I don't mean CPU utilization (I've never really seen sflow raise it significantly regardless of sample rate), but FastIron's built in sample per second limit to avoid clogging up the bus between the ASIC and the CPU. I remember it being something like 50 samples a second, but that may only apply to the ICX7xxx series, I can't remember. It's covered in fastiron-08030p-adminguide.pdf somewhere

Smbaker

Oct 9, 2019