IBM ServeRAID M1015/LSI MegaRAID 9220-8i - Maximum HDD Size

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

hormone120

Sep 30, 2013
Hi,

I recently managed to acquire a relatively lightly used IBM X3200 M3 server for low $$$ and intend to use it for the standard range of home server duties. I’m very new to all things RAID and servers in general and am looking for some advice.

The server came with an IBM ServeRAID M1015/LSI MegaRAID 9220-8i SAS/SATA controller, 12GB RAM and 3 x IBM/WD 250GB SATA HDDs. Additionally, the M1015 appears to have the little Advanced Features Key installed on it, so I’m assuming I’ll be able to configure drives in RAID 5.

The existing HDDs aren’t large enough for my storage requirements, so I purchased 3 x 3TB WD Red NAS drives. I intend to use these in RAID 5, combined with a 64GB SSB I have lying around to run the OS.

HDD bays 0, 1 and 2 were working when I first got the server. Unfortunately, a couple of the bays (Bays 2and 3) appear to not be recognising the new WD Red drives when I insert them (I was pretty careful using the hot swap caddies). I’ve swapped the drives around and I don’t think any of the new HDDs are DOA. I re-seated connections from the SATA controller to the drive cage with a little success (it’s now seeing bay 3 but not bay 2). When I get time I’ll try and troubleshoot this hardware issue more; however, assuming I can fix it, that’s not really my problem.