ESXi 6.7 shell command line very laggy response

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BennyT

Dec 1, 2018
I'm wondering if the boot disk of my ESXi 6.7 host in my homelab is about to die. I'm new to VMware ESXi having just built this sytstem in January so i'm trying to see how to diagnose my issue. Just typing at the esxi command line takes about 10 - 15 second delays about every 10 seconds or so. It is an old circa 2013 Intel enterprise 80GB ssd I purchased used.

I don't believe it is a network issue as I currently have just the one virtual switch used by vmkernal and all my VMs, connected to two physical network adapters in the host which in turn connect to simple unmanaged switch. I had an internal vswitch for fast network connections between my guest VMs but I've since removed it incase it was causing the problem. I don't think my issue is network related, but I could be wrong.

I ran a df -h and I think the 4GB partition is my boot partition. Looks like it has plenty of space there with only 1% used, so I don't believe I'm low on space on the boot partition.
2019-06-25_11-04-23.png

Here is the SMART info on the boot disk. These numbers look strange because they mostly say "100". The media wearout indicator has me worried too.
2019-06-25_10-55-51.png

The guest VMs themselves seem to be performing fine for the most part but with some high disk kernal command latency and queue command latency from time to time during heavy I0 (they are HDDs which I will be replacing with DCT 883 SSDs in future). I plan to replace this Intel boot SSD with a Samsung DCT 883 240GB eventually too, but I may do that sooner rather than later.

I'm considering installing latest ESXi 6.7 onto a USB thumbdrive and see if that improves things. This would be short term solution until I can replace the boot disk with a new SSD.