WD WD100EMAZ and WD Easystore 10TB External Backup Drive Review

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

KC8FLB

Aug 12, 2018
Great job testing the differences between shucked white label vs. retail WD red label.

I have been shucking for a few years now. I have shucked 3 8tb reds, 2 8tb white and now a 10 tb white.

My NAS and my wallet are happy and now I feel comfortable in the cost vs benefit of using the lower cost solution.

BobbyB

Dec 26, 2016
The Duo-WD-book external drives are guaranteed to contain red label drives. Typically, with -20/-25% coupons off WD store in europe, they cost the same or similar to the single drive books.
Another benefit of the duo enclosure since 2018 is they contain a ~60x60x15 fan which actively cools the drives, if one re-uses the enclosure after shucking.

am4593

Feb 20, 2017
Great article, 1 question though. What about TLER support on these drives.

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
A little bit off topic; did WD stop selling (cheaper) hdds under the hgst brand?

ZeDestructor

Oct 3, 2015
If one looks closely at the white label on said drive, one will spot a certain specific R/N: US7SAL080. If one does a quick search for it, one ends up finding a document titled as follows:
Summary of Safety Agency Certifications
Ultrastar ® DC HC510
(previously known as Ultrastar He10)
May 01, 2018
Version 1.2
2 pages later, one finds a nice list of products covered, as well as the certifications achieved, followed by scanned copies of all the certificates:

The only conclusion that one can make from this, really, is that literally all the He drives HGST/WD makes are the same exact hardware, with the differences (including rpm!) existing only in the firmware.

Link to said document: https://documents.westerndigital.co...t/cert-agency-approval-ultrastar-dc-hc510.pdf

Reactions: fasting and William

ReturnedSword

Jun 15, 2018
Santa Monica, CA