lga3647 esxi build to host my Oracle Apps/Databases

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BennyT

Dec 1, 2018
Hi,

This thread is for my LGA3647 VM server project and I've just begun gathering parts. My existing setup I have a few lga2011 RHEL and Oracle Linux boxes running Oracle Apps (and all the services that entails) and their corresponding databases, also Subversion repository, Plexmediaserver, etc. and none of it is virtualized . I want to build a decent esxi host and have all of my Oracle environments, etc. running in VMs instead of on baremetal. I need a server that has resources to accommodate all my CPU/RAM hungry Oracle environments (many of which I want to run concurrently).

Keep in mind I've not used or installed esxi or built such a VM system before. I'll likely say naive and dumb stuff. My background is in Oracle Apps/Databases development.

So I've been saving for building up a server to run ESXI... and here we go.

chassis: Norco 4224 (late 2018)

Norco cases do not get much love but I like the 4224. I knew what I was purchasing so in that respect I'm very pleased with this Norco. My reasoning for selecting this Norco chassis over a SM846 or Dell rack server is that I can make the 4224 run much quieter in my office den where it will reside.​
3x120mm hotswap fans on fanwall. Also, a 2.5" drive tray.​
20181214_170101.jpg