P420 in the mail a month ago ... A cookie to whoever notices whats missing!

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

N1h1l1ty

Oct 21, 2018
Toronto, Canada
So I got this P420 in the mail about a month ago. Plug er into my DL380E, get the SAS cables plumbed, fire er up ... drives spin once ... then nada. Server doesn't see the controller, spend forever troubleshooting, neither of my HP boxes recognize the controller, debug LEDs aren't any help. Then I bother to actually look at the controller.

I know what's missing, but do you?

N1h1l1ty

Oct 21, 2018
Toronto, Canada
Reddit has suggested this is an L6 inductor. I have very little backgrounds in electronics, but if anyone has any protips on sourcing this, this might go from a funny story / 45 dollar paperweight to a working P420 - Markings read R68 1315

Google search has turned up... very little

WANg

Jun 10, 2018
New York, NY
Reddit has suggested this is an L6 inductor. I have very little backgrounds in electronics, but if anyone has any protips on sourcing this, this might go from a funny story / 45 dollar paperweight to a working P420 - Markings read R68 1315

Google search has turned up... very little