Starting my first home server build. Need help...

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ExtraCrispy86

Aug 15, 2018
Hello there,

So I’ve been a tech enthusiast for years and have aquired most of my technical knowledge from having to fix things for friends and family members as the need arises. I’ve recently started looking into ways to build a more secure/convient home network with a lot of salavged hardware. I need to get a better grasp of the network side of things and I was hoping for some positive feedback. Here goes my plans.

Convert HP Compaq Pro 6300 workstation into pfSense router with HP four port gig nic with DNS Resolver and Squid cache, using the onboard ethernet as WAN and the NIC as LAN1, LAN2, (Unused port), IOT wireless port( using dd-wrt on linksys 3200 to convert to VPN Router)

For my LAN, I have a Netgear Nighthawk X8 just gathering dust so i want to DD-wrt it into a switch and use the built-in port Aggregation to connect Lan1 and Lan2, as well as aggregate port 3&4 to connect to my custom workstation/SSDRaid5NAS.

I built my own x99 gaming pc then upgraded it from 28 lanes to 40 lanes and used the i7-5820k on a ASRock x99 killer 3.1 motherboard (2 onboard ethernet ports) to make a workstation to backup devices to as well as use my data recovery tools to salvage data from crashed devices before repair.

I’m an avid console gamer as well and would like to be able to use my 2 xbox one consoles as well as my gaming PC on a Netgear XR500 attached either on the Pro 6300 open NIC port or on one of the Nighthawk X8 open ports.

Would this be a decent setup or are there any helpful hints or tricks that would simplify things? I want to prioritize my network for console gaming first and foremost. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

CookiesLikeWhoa

Sep 7, 2016
TLDR; Try to get yourself a used Dell R710 and managed switch off Ebay.