Server Room Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Mike W

Kuntrolphreak
Jun 29, 2018
Suffolk, Va
What are using for cooling. The mini-split. I do building automation for a living and specialize in critical systems and energy reduction for Data-Centers, Hospitals, Laboratories ect...
If you are truly in the desert swamp coolers are a great way to achieve cheap cooling. I live in Texas and have worked on closed loop swamp coolers for DC's with some great returns on investment. Also you can modulate leaving air temperature with this type of system to maintain a constant cold isle/ entering temp. (this can be accomplished with DX systems also but require digital scroll compressors).

Also if you are using the mini-split check to make sure you are not over capacity for your heat load. This can cause issues with high humidity due to short cycling of the system and not removing the moisture as needed. (I know its the desert but trust me) I have seen it rain in buildings and Data Centers at 110+ deg from HVAC issues that weren't thought about.

What temp are you planning on keeping your server room. Most DC's I work on now are running cold isles at 70-78 deg. These system always have secondary cooling loops for humidity control though.

Awesome Server room. I am jealous.

Reactions: Cool Runnings

jmck

Apr 4, 2013
I'm waiting on information from the HVAC guy for the mini split but it will probably be a 9k BTU unit. Using the formula for sizing, my load will be about 6.5k BTU. I've read with modern mini-splits and variable speed compressors, 80% is the sweet spot for efficiency. That gives me a little room to grow without being way over capacity.