Server Room Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jmck

Apr 4, 2013
I lurk here quite a bit and post once in a while but thought I'd share my server room build.

Last summer I added a mini-split to my home office to help with the heat but with some new server additions and 40GbE switches, my 24U rack is full and too loud to sit near. I picked up a 48U 750mm x 1200mm rack for an incredible price and decided to build a room around it. I had a 150amp sub panel installed in the garage which will make adding 3x L5-30R's in the room for my battery backups quick and it's near where the condenser for the mini-split will sit outside. I'm not good with construction but I wanted to learn so I'm doing everything but the power and mini-split myself.

I went with 2x6 framing with a double layer of Roxul Safe n Sound insulation to help keep the sound in. I won't be adding any vents for outside air, so the room will be sealed up the best it can be. I live in the desert, (It's 113F out right now) so there would only be a few months a year where outside air would help anyway. And with all the sand and dust, it's just easier to not deal with the hassle.

Currently, I'm working on the drywall. All my joints and corners are done but I'm working on skim coating everything. I'd like to go the flat, non-textured route and I'm working on figuring that out.

Next up will be the flooring. I've been going back and forth about adding a grounding layer. The room is small enough it wouldn't be expensive. I'm going to be using vinyl flooring that is anti-static. Anybody have a thought about that? Would you do both or just using the vinyl flooring?

Attachments

BLinux

cat lover server enthusiast
Jul 7, 2016
artofserver.com
smooth wall is definitely the way to go. it takes more work if you're a perfectionist, but i really like it. also a lot easier to clean your walls later on.