Help arranging a home network

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

fsck

Oct 10, 2013
Hi all. So I'm a bit of network beginner. I was wondering if there was a better way to arrange this network, it's hilariously simple compared to any serious deployments, but I feel like I might be missing something. I have been sleep deprived while setting this up so errors are probably crop up.

I'm a single user, in an apartment, with the occasional guest. Thus, I don't really *need* VLANs because I haven't been able to get them working well on my GS1910. However, I may update my electronics lab at some point with gear from my lifetime with ethernet instead of GPIB/RS232, so having a set up that can easily set up VLANs would be beneficial.

Stuff is in the kitchen because that's the central area, where I have the most space and cooling. My portable AC unit is located in the kitchen.

The living room 6610 was supposed to be a 6450, but I got a deal on a 6610 so I just went with the flow.
I'm also in Canada, so adding an extra switch (instead of just having it all off one switch) seemed to be cheaper than having to buy/route/tape cabling for all the 10G workstations.

There are currently 5 servers, 3 workstations and 3 laptops in use.

Home_network.jpeg

I'm a chemistry student, so I really just want everything to work without headaches until I have time to tinker with it.
Thanks in advance for any advice!

kapone

May 23, 2015
Seems a little "scattered". There has to be a way to consolidate systems in one space, wherever that is, kitchen or living room. Running two 6610s, you're looking at ~230-240w just for the switches...

fsck

Oct 10, 2013
I could run everything off one switch but I'd need to do 3 runs of fiber and 10 ethernet for like 50ft a piece.