WTB 40GigE cards + QSFP and cable

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Myth

Feb 27, 2018
Los Angeles
Hi Guys,

I'm new to 40GigE but I want to buy 2x 40GigE cards and then a cable and SFPs to connect two servers directly to each other for backup of 50TB of media rich content.

Do you guys know if these two cards would work together or if I need more products. The seller of the cable says that the cable has the QSFPs on the cable and from the pictures it looks like he does. But I want to make sure. So if I buy the two links below, will that connect two servers together, or will I need another product?

MCX353A-FCBT FUJITSU CONNECTX3 VPI ADAPTER CARD 1 PORT QSFP 40GBE PCI-E - LP | eBay
QSFP 40G QSFP+ Active Optical Cable 15 meter | eBay

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
What is the distance? Do you really need 15m?

And you link is expensive for a single port card.

And what target OS? And Infiniband or Ethernet? The latter I assume?

Myth

Feb 27, 2018
Los Angeles
Ethernet on 40GigE for windows server 2016. Really the card is expensive? Most of the cards I've found are over 500$ new.

Oh, and also yes 3m would be fine in length, but seems like the 15m cable is a great price.

Samir

Post Liker and Deal Hunter Extraordinaire!
Jul 21, 2017
HSV and SFO
Why are the ATTO cards 40gigE over$1000 but these HP used is 40$?

Order - ATTO Store
A couple of reasons. First, ATTO is probably not producing cards at the volume of HP, so the price will be higher on that alone. Plus, the ATTO card is probably new.

The HP card seems like a nice, well-tested, but removed from service part--probably from servers that were bought dirt cheap and by the pallet and then parted out. That's the only way I've figured some of the unreal prices that exist on ebay pop up on legit stuff. The fake stuff, well, those prices are low for a reason...

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA