Need help around home ESXi build - 1P Eypc or Intel, Supermicro/Gigabyte motherboard?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

loopback14

Jan 2, 2018
Hi guys,

Just started following the site and the forums a couple of weeks ago and I'm amazed at how much great info resides here that I couldn't find anywhere else. Keep up the great work!

I am planning to build an ESXi build for my home lab and I need your help since I am pretty new in the server hardware arena.

So, the ESXi server will be used for a lot of things, primarily for my networking lab in general plus the CCIE lab (a lot of pretty much CPU idle VM-s that will eat a lot of RAM - various Cisco software and virtual routers, Check Point firewalls, F5 load balancers, some Microsoft stuff, etc.). I presume around 30 VMs may be up and running at any single time. In the future I plan to build some sort of NAS on top of the server and maybe add a graphics card for passthrough if I feel like gaming (haven't done this for 15 years :) ). My entire build budget (motherboard, CPU, cooling, RAM, case, storage) is around 2000-2500$ but bear in mind that I'm from Europe and hardware prices are higher here.

Since I started investigating server hardware my decision on what to buy has been harder with each new day :) After all the research I think that 1P CPU (cores > GHz) system, a lot of RAM with ability for RAM/storage expansion (NVMe) would be best suited for my needs. My brain/heart tells me I need to go with an 1P Epyc build but the 8x channel RAM requirements is a little turn off right now since the RAM prices are through the roof. Plus there aren't a lot of 1P Epyc motherboards on the market at this time, unlike the Intel offerings.