Home Build of Firewall / Monitor Help

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

RBNCO

Dec 27, 2017
I am a bit of newbie (ok, all the way new to this) when it comes to home firewalls. My requirements seem to be a bit different than what I have seen others doing. I am looking to add edge security to my home network with a few twists.

My requirements/needs are these:
1. Firewall/IPS
2. Malware protection
3. VPN support for remote connection to my network
4. Website/content logging for monitoring of my kids internet usage (unfortunately, we need to know what they view and post on different sites)
5. Throughput support as close to 1Gb as possible (I know with SSL inspection and other capabilities, this will be greatly reduced)

I am looking to keep the costs to below $1K if possible. I have a server rack for my VM farm and other appliances, so would prefer a reachable appliance or server. I currently have approximately 110 devices wight now on my network that have connectivity to the internet. Everything from smart home devices to 4K streaming TVs.

I have been looking into products like pfsense and others, but I can not seem to find reliable information in one place about all the additional components required to meet my needs. I have been looking at commercial products like Sophos, Zyxel, etc... but they are not complete either.

Any direction or input would be greatly appreciated. If I missed something about what I am looking for or my environment that would help in providing better direction, please let me know.

Thanks.

Evan

Jan 6, 2016
PfSense or Sophos XG are both free’ish for home use.

Outside of that the devices like fortinet fg-61e with 3 years support should be in budget just.

Full inspection will drop rates to 300M or so but maybe you don’t need full inspection of all traffic types or IP’s etc

Cisco Meraki also maybe worth a look.