Help me find: Bad ass VM server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AJXCR

Jan 20, 2017
The more I'm thinking the more I like this idea... because I can add an adapter to existing servers and get storage for those too all on the storage host. Nothing I've done before, so I'm a newb at it but I like the idea of this.
Personally, this is the route I've taken using a disk shelf. An array of 8x HGST HE8 6TB SAS3 drives reads/writes surprisingly fast (at least I was extremely impressed)...

Evan

Jan 6, 2016
Personally, this is the route I've taken using a disk shelf. An array of 8x HGST HE8 6TB SAS3 drives reads/writes surprisingly fast (at least I was extremely impressed)...
Yep the HE8’s are pretty good for spinning disks.
I took a different route to bulk storage and that was just sata SSD all the way but needs a little more modest and I purchased when ssd’s were cheaper, bit pricey to do that today but as @AJXCR has also offered there is some value to be has with larger SAS SSD also.

El Chorizo

Jul 29, 2017
What kind of chassis/interconnect are you using?

whitey

Jun 30, 2014
If it's just for learning/playing than I would build two systems, one storage node and one vm host.

Storage node with 100gbe/edr infiniband + optane ssd(s) for slog (900p or p4800x), max 128gb ddr3/4
Vm host with 100gbe/edr infiniband and two cpu (8+ cores & 2+ ghz each)

Put everthing that you're not spending on hdds/ssds (capacity) in ram for the vm host.
Imma' go out on a limb here and say that 100GbE is overkill w/in this budget, 10GbE would work but w/ 40GbE being soo price competive to 10GbE why not go for 40GbE but 100...nah, you'll blow 1/2 if not all budget on ethernet fabric before you even get out of the gate unless you just go 2 node and direct connect 100GbE nics and that still is not cheap.

AJXCR

Jan 20, 2017
Yep the HE8’s are pretty good for spinning disks.