Sick and tired of FreeNAS, need alternates>>>

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jazon12

Aug 18, 2017
I have been running a home server for about six years now, the setup going through various iterations in both hardware and software. The goal has always been the same, which was to virtualize desktops to thin clients through my house with centralized processing, networking, and storage happening in my stack. I took many classes at the local community college over those years, and had access to free Microsoft software, which I of course hoarded like crazy, so I have access to anything Microsoft.
I started using FreeNAS over a year ago to simply serve files and use Plex, but kept running into a brick wall on my virtualization goal. I did not want to dedicate precious server rack room to a server solely for the purpose of controlling a Hyper-V cluster, and waste all that energy. When Corral came out, I took off running with it. Changed my setup somewhat to match the ability of Corral to run a VM, that VM being the Hyper-V cluster master node. Then ix took Corral away, then came back with 11. I installed the VM on that, but kept running into a networking issue that did not exist with Corral. And now my VM is core dumping upon start-up. This is a bug, this is a bug, I keep reading this. I see the writing on the wall.

My confidence with ixSystems is gone now, and I need to move on. I need it to do two simple things: serve files and host a virtual machine. That's it. Can someone please recommend a different vendor? Hardware requirements are no issue because my equipment is decent. Thanks!

jazon12

Aug 18, 2017
I am not familiar with kvm or docker. does there exist a CLI bare metal hypervisor that is absolutely free? When it is not Microsoft, I am very much noob...

jazon12

Aug 18, 2017