M

Dell C6220 BIOS|ME|BMC Update

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Michael Biglen

Aug 16, 2016
Frderick, CO
Reactions: tjk and Patrick

Rob Rhodes

Jan 5, 2017
Hello Michael, I have just bought a second hand C6220 and it has the original bios so I have followed your guide to update it. However I am no expert in DOS. I cant get your first command to register C:\bios\bios.exe it just comes back as invalid command. I would imagine that C: points to the local hard drive rather than the USB? Is there a way to find the USB drive letter name? There is a usb shown in the boot options and then that disappears if I boot without the usb in so im assuming it recognises it and I used Rufus as instructed to format the drive first. Are you able to help? Thanks

Rob Rhodes

Jan 5, 2017
Thanks for your help Michael. Do you think this is the likely problem here? Is there a way to tell that its trying to read the USB or is the only test to take out all the HDDs and then just type dir and hope it lists the files on the USB?

The command prompt starts with C:\> so should it just read C:\>bios\bios.exe or C:\> C:bios\bios.exe ? Sorry for the very entry level questions! The link you provided downloads a .exe zip file, am I just to rename this file to bios.exe and place it in the bios folder on the USB? When I extract it I cant see any .exe files in there so im assuming its just the full downloaded zip. For the other two downloads I have extracted them and coppied the parts into folders as you have instructed so I'm hoping they will work.

Many thanks again for your help

Michael Biglen

Aug 16, 2016
Frderick, CO
The BIOS exe, named "PEC6220IIBIOS020503.exe", file is a self extracting zip file.
When you run it from your Windows Desktop it should ask you where you want it extracted.