Cheap/Ghetto remote managed PDU?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

maze

Apr 27, 2013
I'v been considering a way to get a cheap remote managed PDU or so for my upcoming reuse-vmware-vsan-setup.

I'v been browsing ebay, but all seem to be either in the US, or new (and therefore expensive).. I have very little knowledge about PDU's and power in general so this is new grounds for me.

Has anyone made any sort of ghetto solutions? Or does anyone have any brands/models that would give me 5-8 plugs that can be remote powered on/off via some sort of web console or so.

Kal G

Oct 29, 2014
I assume you need one supporting 220V? What type of plug are you looking to use, CEE or DK 2-5a?

maze

Apr 27, 2013
@dba - doesnt seem to be available many other places than the US from what I can just see - price seems nice though

@Kal G - 220v yes, i'd love a normal DK 2-5a plug - but CEE can be done aswell if needed

Blinky 42

Aug 6, 2015
PA, USA
I have used AP7920's for what you are talking about in the US and international, just get a set of C13/C14 cables to power your stuff and then your local plug to C13 computer power code to power it.

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada
A cheap hack might involve a Raspberry Pi/ Arduino or similar and an 8 channel SSR board plus wiring and some remote control/ web server libraries. Without a fair bit of extra work you'll not be able to monitor outlet current, but you should at least be able to remote power your gear with it :)

I would still think though that an APC PDU would be your best option, even if it costs a bit more :)

Terry Kennedy

Jun 25, 2015
New York City
www.glaver.org
I would still think though that an APC PDU would be your best option, even if it costs a bit more :)