Recent content by zecas

1. Z

New Home Server Build : X11SRM-F + Xeon W-2135

Hi, I'm thinking about building a home server, the objective would be to provide a centralized storage to everyone the house, and at the same time having some additional services available. The idea would be to install proxmox, with some VMs and containers to provide the services and further...
  2. Z

Docker multi host setup

Hi, I'm planning on setting up some docker containers on my home and small business network, and since I'm not an expert, I looking for some opinions on how to do it the way I'm thinking about it. Basically let's say that I would prefer not to have a monster VM running all docker containers...
  3. Z

SSH Server : WinSSHD alternative on Linux

Hi, Currently I'm in the process of making some changes on a small infrastructure that is composed of a few old physical machines which I want to virtualise. One of those machines is an old Windows Server 2003, that has been hosting an SSH Server (WinSSHD, or Bitvise SSH Server, an old version...
  4. Z

Dell R720 and PC3L 12800R memory modules

Hi, I'm negotiating a purchase of a Dell R720 with the following specs: Dell R720 SFF with 16x 2.5" bays 2x Intel Xeon E5-2695v2 128Gb RAM Perc H710 Mini Raid Card The RAM memory is supposed to be PC3 10600R, but I can change it to PC3L 12800R memories, and I'm trying to understand what are...
  5. Z

Dell R720 iDrac : Express vs Enterprise

Hi, I hope this is the right place to post this thread about iDrac questions I have. I'm planning on buying a Dell R720 which is listed as having iDrac. Just that, it only lists as having iDrac. I will make some questions to the seller to understand which version we are talking about, but in...
  6. Z

Choosing the right UPS to a server