Recent content by nry

1. N

My Home Server Farm

This is mind blowing! As a software developer myself who gets by with 2 dual Dell R720 servers, I'd love to know more about what you do which requires so much compute!
  2. N

2018 - Upgrading the toys

I bought mine off eBay. To be honest I had similar issues with drastically increased boot times, in the end I sold the board and bought a dual socket Supermicro board which now boots in under 60 seconds.
  3. N

Storage - Performance Had a play with my 32GB Intel Optane drive and it seemed to perform quite well under very specific workloads. Then combining a ebay 15% off everything voucher with a pretty cheap new Intel Optane 900p 280GB I now have a very nice caching drive. But nothing is easy...
  4. N

Virtualisation of my media PCs using ESXi

All worked out the box for me
  5. N

Virtualisation of my media PCs using ESXi

You can download the image directly from VMWare!
  6. N

Storage Upgrade - Benchmark ZFS Following on from my previous post, I have come to the conclusion that ZFS on Linux simply couldn't sustain the numbers I was expecting. Things I tried ashift 9 and 12 Running it on my other server as a VM Different HBAs Striping the drives, still poor numbers...
  7. N

Storage Upgrade - Benchmark ZFS I'll be using RaidZ2 as I have been more than impressed with the performance of my existing array. My plan has been to benchmark in the following order: Sequential Read Sequential Write Random Read Random Write First with no cache drives, then to add various...
  8. N

More than happy with cli, it's just configuring the scheduled tasks for ZFS which I haven't done before. Bit of research and I'm sure I could figure it out. 500GB - 1TB MySQL databases (used for testing/debugging) Elasticsearch data store Backups Media storage docker cache And some other...
  9. N

I meant use it as a replacement for ESXi due to ZFS support
  10. N