Recent content by Nicolai

1. N

2.5" HDD or SSD

I was going to use unraid. How come they don't work well in an array?
  2. N

How do I network?

My business setup is dirt simple: I have my PC, now I'm adding an unraid server, that's really it. I'm only making shares that's private and my business won't even show up on the network. I think I'll keep it all on 1 subnet for now, I'm still learning about servers, learning about networking...
  3. N

How do I network?

I don't mind a "wall", it usually means a well documented answer with explanations I can understand. It is. I'm not making a server and networking out of necessity, I'm making it out of interest. I'm also aware it won't be able to compete with a professional solution, but I'm okay with that...
  4. N

2.5" HDD or SSD

Thank you both for your input! It's much appreciated. I wasn't sure if cost was the only benefit conventional HDDs have over SSDs, so I wanted to post the question here.
  5. N

2.5" HDD or SSD

The use case is just a regular storage server for me and my 1 man business and a bit of plex. I don't need SAS, as the hot swap bays I'm getting are equipped with 4 SATA3 connections each. The price differences are just shy of double up from HDD to SSD. I'm considering using SSDs because of the...
  6. N

How do I network?

Generic is very good in my specific case, as my starting point is a 100 mb ISP provided router with 4 ports and some crappy wifi. As for the OS, I'm making an UNRAID server, which is literally just going to be a fileserver for now, down the line I might put a Xeon processor in it and run a...
  7. N

2.5" HDD or SSD

Hello all you wonderful people I've ordered most of the parts for my new storage server for my job, but I still haven't ordered the actual storage devices themselves yet, due to I can't make up my mind. If it's not too much to ask, I'd like to hear what you guys think and why. I'm trying to...
  8. N

How do I network?