Recent content by nasomi

1. N

Looking for solid guide for powershell SS

I have 3 disks. I add them to the storage pool. I go to use the wizard to create a new virtual disk. Default settings across the board, select parity array. So i fire up powershell. New-VirtualDisk -StoragePoolFriendlyName big -Size 37TB -ProvisioningType Fixed -ResiliencySettingName...
  2. N

Looking for solid guide for powershell SS

I want to create a parity array with 3 disks. I have done so using the raid5 in disk management. It works well. But I know that there's some things i can do to get more speed. The problem is, google seems to be hiding them from me. Seems google results lately are not great. I've been reading and...
  3. N

Windows Server 2019 Storage Spaces

I know a lot of people shit on storage spaces parity array. But I have some experience. I have 14x4tb ssd's in 2x 7 disk parity array's. One is Hardware raid5 on an H810 raid card, one is windows storage spaces. I get ~400MB/sec read/write which is sufficient for me. The arrays are 8 years old...
  4. N

Dell Precision T7810 + 3hdd's + os ssd

Thanks. No controllers, just hte onboard sata. It has 0-3 for hdd and 0-1 for optical. I'm curious what is different about optical than hdd. Speed?
  5. N

Dell Precision T7810 + 3hdd's + os ssd

I'm having trouble finding a clear answer on this one. I can see 2 hdd bays at the bottom, maybe one in the 5.25" bay, but all the videos I watch have special brackets/cables that I can't find part numbers for. I would like 3 20tb hdd's so I can use windows storage spaces parity array. My...
  6. N

4 nvme in Dell Precision T5810

From what I've been reading, bifurcation is supported. It doesn't specifically say it, but on the spec sheet it says add 4 m2 drives with that specific dell ultra speed drive quad adapter. Which is why I know the dell one works. I just wasn't sure if the non-dell ones would function the same. I...
  7. N

4 nvme in Dell Precision T5810