Recent content by moxford

1. M

ASUS WRX80 Workstation Motherboard for new AMD Threadripper Pro's - Memory Module DIMM Slot installation permutation.

The Lenovo P620s we ordered are all trainwrecks - stickers on lid didn't match silkscreening didn't match manuals, and they were not even consistent across the 6 we bought direct from them. Oh, and they fused the CPUs as well, and turned it on in the firmware, but their fuses were not even...
  2. M

STH Aeon Mining Pool Beta Access

@Patrick Related, or just using the same name for blockchain stuff? IBM, AEON to Build a Digital Currency-Friendly Blockchain Payments Rail for Asia -mox
  3. M

Rosewill 550w platinum psu $36

Interesting review summary here: [H]ardOCP: Rosewill Quark-550 550W Power Supply Review
  4. M

I'm going to play. It might not be much to start since I'm new at all of this, but if I'm going to learn it and benchmark things it may as well contribute to the pool! I will have some time on Sunday to poke around with it- I'll contribute what I can if that Docker is available.
  5. M

SmartOS under ESXi thoughts

Excellent information, thank you!!
  6. M

@Patrick As much as I would love to join this, I don't know that I have the pockets for it ... power costs in San Jose are atrocious. I will run some numbers and look into Aeon mining (CPU? GPU?) and figure out if I can come out and play ...
  7. M

SmartOS under ESXi thoughts

Hi all. Does anyone see an issue with running SmartOS under ESXi, with the ZFS iSCSI ported back to ESXi to store the other VMs? I want to stay with Solarish for a mature ZFS option, which limits my options to SmartOS/OI at this point in time. I've heard of other distros doing this via iSCSI...
  8. M

FS: 8GB 1600MHz & 16GB 1333MHz DDR3 dimms, Xeon E5-2637 v2 cpu, Dell M1000 chassis switches

I cannot find the difference ... What is the Q5 postfix? Thanks! -mox
  9. M

Monero Mining Performance