Recent content by MarcoP82

1. M

Topton Jasper Lake Quad i225V Mini PC Report

Yesterday my device died. I investigated why it idled at 54°C and I was expecting bad contact or bad thermal paste application. Apparently it was three thick layers of thermal paste: one on the aluminium cover, one on the copper block and one on a thin copper shim. After cleaning and applying...
  2. M

Open Network switches for home use?

Sorry, can't help you more as I'm not experienced with either. I just tried looking at solutions you might have missed.
  3. M

Open Network switches for home use?

The cheapest I know are the Dell S4112F-ON and S4112T-ON, 12-port 10Gbit with three 100Gbit ports. These can be had for a few thousand dollar second-hand. There is also the Dell N1108T-ON which is 1Gbit only, but can be acquired cheaply.
  4. M

Marvell Octeon 10 Gets Wild at OCP Summit 2022

I'm confused, I thought DPUs were developed to split the host server's hardware and resources from the Hypervisor kernel to improve performance, security and manageability. In the sense that ESXi would be installed on the DPU with its own CPU and RAM for the hypervisor kernel, while allowing...
  5. M

Short rack build for BranchCache in our branch offices

Thanks for the suggestion, that's a very interesting case ! Though in my region (EU) these seem to be hard to come by, I only see an email address from the regional office. I'll inquire about these. I'll not be needing a full IPMI solution but something to restart the device when the OS is not...
  6. M

Any other suggestions ? I'm thinking about something from Project MiniMicro that I can rackmount with ports front-facing.
  7. M

That's going to be a problem in some of the racks on our branch offices regretably :(
  8. M

I considered these but they have rear I/O which is a huge problem in single sided network closets.
  9. M