Recent content by jmck

1. J

Brand New SuperMicro CSE-836E16-R92JBD 3U 16 BAY 3.5 JBOD BPN-SAS2-836EL1 for $349, free shipping

I saw the shipping cost, it was and still is free. You might be looking at overnight cost? Seller accepted $300 offer. Thanks OP.
  2. J

Is the Cisco C240-M3 worth it?

I have 4 C240 M3S's and have had very good luck with them. In my first 6 months with a C6100, I had a blade die and about 1 a year after that. So far I haven't had a C240 go bad yet and I've been running a few for going on 2 years. I picked another one up a while ago from the seller linked...
  3. J

TOSHIBA 600GB 10K SAS 2.5IN - $52 CDW Outlet

If you're looking for 600GB 10K SAS, check out these on eBay. 600GB 2.5" 10K SAS hard drive HGST HUC109060CSS600 For IBM | eBay $16.99 each, they were brand new, 0 hours when I got mine. And the drive trays that they come in resell for about $9-10 each.
  4. J

PMS 4.0...PMS 5.0...PMS 6.0...No PMS 7.0! Plex/Storage server upgrade [PICS]

It's not a limitation on Nvidia's part, it's Plex. Some people have compiled ffmpeg on their own with hardware decode support and swapping it into Plex, still a no go. It's an issue Plex needs to address.
  5. J

Server Room Build

Small update, all the electrical is done now. I have 2x 120v 30 amp and 1x 120v 20 amp circuits installed. Used 10/3 with ground so later it'll be easy to switch to 240v if I start acquiring those UPSs. Also had the cabling for the AC run, AC disconnect installed and a Nest Protect installed...
  6. J

Server Room Build

I'm waiting on information from the HVAC guy for the mini split but it will probably be a 9k BTU unit. Using the formula for sizing, my load will be about 6.5k BTU. I've read with modern mini-splits and variable speed compressors, 80% is the sweet spot for efficiency. That gives me a little room...
  7. J

Server Room Build