Recent content by FlyingTexan

1. F

Converting an HP DL380e Gen8 14xLFF Server to a Disk Shelf

Wanted to give an update. 1) Got it all working! 2) Not all HP DL 380e have their own controller (I'm a noob so didn't know) 3) I have one 8pin to each disk shelf. No issues at all. 4) My unraid server has gotten much faster with the backplanes and I don't know why 5) My drive temps doing a 3...
  2. F

Original LSI SAS 9300 16i - Problem Flashing. Please Help!

I just wanted you let you know that I'm fully aware not all Heroes wear capes. I'm flashing today and will be using this. Thank you so much for the effort.
  3. F

The wiring on the backplane is pretty thin 20awg wiring. Can the backplane and drives be powered off a single 8 pin PSU cable? Does this backplane automatically stagger the spin up?
  4. F

So i'm at the point basically. I've modded my power connectors to my new corsair PSU and it didn't blow up. What I'm worried about is the cooling of the drives. By measuring it looks like they could take an 80mm fan each. That'd be 8 fans, which is fine, but I'm a little curious how your...
  5. F

Stupid question but do I need to use all 12v and grnds? Or can I just splice the 3x12v and grounds together so it's basically two wires?
  6. F

I wanted to bump this because I’m getting eager lol but also because I wanted to ask if the backplane here will automatically provide 3.3v to the drives that need it to function like the newer Ultrastars.
  7. F

On another note... If powering the backplane from the PSU there's no reason to power the buttons on the dl380e is there?
  8. F

Can you explain this to a 5yr old brain? What does the 5v/12v on the backplane have to do with it? Do you mean the max amperage that they pull exceeds the 12v amperage? I didn't think 5v was used at all? I'm on unraid and unsure if I can do staggered starts. New realm for me. If this is simply...
  9. F