Recent content by AveryFreeman

1. AveryFreeman

Does Illumos have any high-availability file storage platforms?

So when you say multipath, is this limited to NFSv41 multipath protocol, or is there a way to do multipath with block storage target? (e.g. iSCSI, FCoE etc.). Sorry, I'm having to imagine all scenarios from what I've gathered through reading, as it's all very new to me.
  2. AveryFreeman

Anyone using IB over ConnectX-3 w/ ESXi 7.0U1?

Hey, I've never used an IB adapter before, but I was thinking of doing some direct-attached IB adapters for my 3 ESXi hosts now that I learned my 3 Intel 82598EB adapters I dug out of storage are now no longer supported. I do have VCSA if that matters. I have 82599 10GbE for basic networking...
  3. AveryFreeman

Fascinating. I saw somewhere a whitepaper from 2009 that discussed making a zpool mirror in Solaris over network using iSCSI LUN, but for some reason it required 5 hosts. Other than that, I haven't really seen much regarding HA on Solaris/Illumos (except Oracle's new commercial framework). I...
  4. AveryFreeman

Just what the subject says - Want to create the simplest high-availability storage system possible: 3 hosts - 2 mirrored file storage + 1 witness. Is this possible on the Illumos platform? I have a single OmniOS file server right now and I love it because of its stability and windows domain...
  5. AveryFreeman

Anybody seen a Supermicro board not recognize hard drives/SSDs before?!

Hey, I got a new board recently to upgrade my oddball UIO case server, it's an X10SRW-F, which is like a WIO form factor X10SRL-F My BIOS is rev 3.22 (latest) and IPMI Redfish 3.9 (also latest - just updated both last night) I was really excited to set this board up and retire my X9SPU-F, but...
  6. AveryFreeman

ESXI 6.0 Passthrough onboard SATA