Career expansion advice for a "jack of all trades"

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Navy_BOFH

Aug 2, 2013
I have loved this forum from the minute I discovered it, and learn something new every time I come here. To give a brief background, I was a Navy electronics technician for 6 years where I worked on weapons and targeting systems among other equipment. My "main job" was to troubleshoot, maintain, and repair a Unisys 2200-type mainframe system with a Solaris emulated peripheral suite, and a Red Hat based training simulator which was all connected through a fiber LAN and Cisco routing/switching equipment. On the side, I taught myself a good understanding of the current IT market - mostly on the Windows Server/Hyper-V end with a little time with pfSense and FreeNAS and ESXI.

After leaving the Navy (with no college education so far), I wandered into the field of RF Engineering and Broadcast Engineering as a field engineer for my organization. I now deal with a LOT more electrical engineering work than before, mostly working with TV, FM, and amateur radio transmitters. With it, we own a 29-site microwave network which gives me some exposure to our "TowerNet" which is a DS3 circuit being ran through Marconi ATM switches to Cisco IP routing/switching for everything from IP services at each site to our main TV and FM feeds being multiplexed on the circuit. I deal with Linux, Windows, and networking in general.