Lenovo ThinkPad P50 Mobile Workstation Review

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
May 8, 2015
I've had this machine for a couple months and I'm loving it. Anyone considering purchasing this machine who requires linux should be aware that linux support on it isn't all there yet. Unless you're very comfortable with Linux you may want to hold off for a few months. Definitely usable but there is some finagling and tweaking that needs to be done. Great review.

markarr

Oct 31, 2013
I have been using it for a couple months. I have some weird quirks with the dock, the fingerprint reader doesn't always activate coming out of sleep, and the screen while beautiful is a little small for 4k resolution I am in my 20's and have issues using it sometimes and scaling issues. It is a beast though with that xeon and nvme ssd.

May 8, 2015
I have been using it for a couple months. I have some weird quirks with the dock, the fingerprint reader doesn't always activate coming out of sleep, and the screen while beautiful is a little small for 4k resolution I am in my 20's and have issues using it sometimes and scaling issues. It is a beast though with that xeon and nvme ssd.
I too am in my 20's and agree with you that the screen is a bit small for 4k. I find myself squinting at tiny text quite often, especially inside of VMs. I have the xeon as well and its nice but did they ever figure out the ecc memory issue? I also had issues with the memory controller not downclocking faster memory as it should so I had to return a few sets of memory before realizing I just had to go with 2133. I got a 2.5hdd version swapped that out for 1tb 850pro and installed two samsung 950 pro nvmes so I should be set for a while. I don't use the fingerprint scanner so I cant really speak to any issues with that.

markarr

Oct 31, 2013