Cross-flashing M5015: The latest working LSI-firmware?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Rhinox

May 27, 2013
First, greetings to all forum-members from passer-by!

I just obtained IBM M5015 controller and was scared by terribly long boot-time, so I started looking for some info and found this forum by chance. I have a few questions, but please be patient with me, because I'm complete noob concerning cross-flashing, never done this, and never heard about it untill now...

I would like to flash the latest LSI-firmware (4.10 p2, 12.13.0-0154), but I have read somewhere on this forum some versions can not be flashed on M5015, they simply do not work (oem-controller is detected, or something like that). So my question is:
Q1: which is the last LSI-firmware version working with M5015?

Q2: what the hell is "SBR" (or is it SRB)? I have read it must be wiped out and new loaded. Where can I find the new/latest one?

Q3: That "megarec" tool used for cross-flashing, is it a part of standard LSI-tools (MegaCLI or StorCLI)? If not, where can I find/download it?

Q4 (which should be probably Q1), please be honest with me and tell me: is there some serious danger I could do something wrong and render the raid-controller completely irreversibely unusable? Did this ever happen to someone?

mobilenvidia

Sep 25, 2011
New Zealand
You can flash any LSI9260 FW to the M5015, who ever says otherwise is wrong.
But this will not solve the slow boot.
You need to flash the SBR from the LSI9260 to the M5015 fooling it into thinking it's no longer a M5015 with slow boot.
SBR are the OEM settings for the card, it has the card name and some other specific OEM settings
The SBR cross flashing was locked quite a few versions ago.
But you can get around this by clearing the flash first then writing the SBR as per below

How to flash the SAS2108 based cards:
Make a bootable DOS USB disk (Google it)