Looking to build a firewall - recommendations?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

denisl

Dec 20, 2014
I'm a novice slowly building out some equipment in my house and would like to add some security for my network. I have a couple of VM's accessible over the internet one of which is owncloud that I'd like to protect/harden. Is pfsense the way to go? I read about sophos as well and really not sure what's the best for me - although I do enjoy all this, my time is limited so something that has a quick time to setup is preferred. But I don't want to spend $700 on a prebuild pfsense appliance. I was thinking of pfsense with snort for IDS.

My questions is both HW and SW. Was thinking a 1U ATOM 525 off ebay for $100 and pfsense/snort.

Any considerations I should be thinking about?
Thanks

denisl

Dec 20, 2014
Thanks for the reply. How does that R210 compare to an Atom 1U server in power and fan sound?
I already have 2 servers in the rack - 1 Dell R710 (running my backups) and 1 Supermicro running vmware.
I'm looking for something with low noise, reliable and ideally low power but I would sacrifice power consumption for quietness.

MiniKnight

Mar 30, 2012
NYC
How much traffic are you pushing? Like do you have a 100Mbps WAN, 1Gb WAN, 10Gb WAN?

Any VPNs? I'm still a big proponent of using C2558 or C2758's as they're awesome for pfSense. A1SRi-2758F or the like.

Check out pfSense with suricata as well.

Alfa147x

Feb 7, 2014
I would also consider the low power AMD chips for this. They're cheap (especially when on sale) and efficient. I bought the AMD 3850 Kabini + MSI AM1I for my Sophos box.

Churchill

Admiral
Jan 6, 2016
Bought a 1U supermicro xeon server off Mr. Rackables on Ebay for $160 shipped. 8GB RAM, Quad Core, dual intel GB NIC's. Installed PFsense and very happy with teh result.

mstone

Mar 11, 2015