Has anyone gotten ECC logging (Rasdaemon, EDAC, WHEA, etc.) to work on Xeon W-1200 or W-1300 or Core 12ᵗʰ or 13ᵗʰ Gen processors?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BigBullion

Jul 28, 2022
I have an 11th Gen Intel Xeon W-1370 Rocket Lake CPU which supports DDR4 ECC UDIMMs. The motherboard is Gigabyte W480M Vision W, with latest BIOS (version F21).

In order to enable the system to log ECC errors I have attempted to install Rasdaemon and EDAC. This is my first time installing and using Rasdaemon and EDAC.

I have followed these instructions and tried to install and run it on Fedora Workstation 37 but failed to get it working.

Here are the steps and commands that I have tried.

Code:
$ sudo dnf install -y rasdaemon edac-util edac-utils libedac edac-ctl

$ sudo systemctl enable rasdaemon
$ sudo systemctl start rasdaemon
$ sudo systemctl enable ras-mc-ctl
$ sudo systemctl start ras-mc-ctl

$ ras-mc-ctl --status
ras-mc-ctl: drivers not loaded.

$ edac-util -v
edac-util: Error: No memory controller data found.

$ dmesg | grep -i edac
[    1.228826]  EDAC MC: Ver: 3.0.0

$ sudo modprobe ie31200_edac
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ie31200_edac': Operation not permitted
Maybe EDAC is not supported for 10th Gen Comet Lake or 11th Gen Rocket Lake CPUs? I have found a webpage in which a user mentions that there is no support for 10th Gen.

I don't know if this is the right place to look, but I have searched through the source code for the Linux EDAC drivers and there is no mention of EDAC for 10th Gen or 11th Gen support, although there is mention of EDAC support for 8th and 9th gen Coffee Lake CPUs.

I might try a different Linux distro, Ubuntu, next.