Fan connector housing and crimps

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Bjorn Smith

Sep 3, 2019
r00t.dk
Hi,

I am replacing fans, and would like to do it properly - but I am having issues finding the correct parts.

I am aware that I need a fan connector housing, compatible with MOLEX KK 254 it seems, and then some crimps to attach the cables to.

But I wonder if anyone have any precise part numbers or correct words to search for, since I am not an electronics engineer :)

I have found these:
And

But I am unsure that it is the correct parts and even though its not a lot of money I don't just want to spend money on what would basically be junk if I cannot use it for my 4 pin PWM fans.

And also how am I supposed to get the cables into the housing when the crimp has been attached and firmly pressed together? Using tweezers? Or is there a tool I require?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Stephan

Apr 21, 2017
Germany
Hey Bjorn, check https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002905132620.html to see if those guide ridges on the other side shouldn't be asymmetrical instead of at the edges which appears to be the case in your first picture. Will depend on the socket.

To crimp, put wire with insulation into the terminal so that wire is only free from between the two crimp places and into the second (middle) crimp place. Crimp first place with pointy-flat pliers on all four pins so they're nicely the same length. Crimp second place and solder slightly for good measure. Before doing all that, maybe put 2cm of shrink tube on the wires.

When crimped you can just push the terminal into the backside hole of the housing. It will get stuck because the front is not only a contact but also a spring acting as a hook. Push shrink tube forward and shrink with a cigarette lighter. Don't make it too hot, will start to burn.

Bjorn Smith

Sep 3, 2019
r00t.dk