Drag to reposition cover

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

tfran1990

Jul 19, 2019
I used the guide in the very beginning of this thread and i was able to configure everything as far a ve and vlans with the attached ports. my problem is i cant ping a laptop connected to one of the vlans. is this the right place to post a config?

kpfleming

Dec 28, 2021
Pelham NY USA
In short, people are stupid and shortsighted. Most of the problems in that blog rant are either unsolvable, irrelevant or "thinking is hard". I have had working IPv6 for nearly a decade - using a HE.net tunnel, because most ISPs won't provision IPv6 in Australia. And I'm by no means a network engineer.
Same here, I've had IPv6 in my home network (in multiple variations) for years and it works well and solves actual problems.

Back to the OP's question: with the configuration you have, you'll need to setup IPv6 address configuration and routing at each hop, you can't expect RAs to *pass through* layer 3 network elements (routers). RAs are *local* configuration, they don't pass through routers.

Assuming that FIOS allows you to use DHCPv6-PD to get a prefix delegation of reasonable size (/56 or larger), which they don't yet in my FIOS neighborhood, you'll need to do various things:

* The OPNsense firewall will need to obtain a delegation from FIOS using DHCPv6-PD. It may also get its own address (via SLAAC or DHCPv6) but that is not mandatory, as it will already have a link-local address that can be used for IPv6 transit between itself and the FIOS network. The delegation will need to be at least a /56 in size, although a /48 would be better given your configuration; if it's a /64, you're stuck because that can't be broken down further.