New NAS Build: consideration about chipset throughput / controller cards

Would you upgrade your network to 25 Gbit for the same cost you have today with your 1 Gbit ?

• There is no provider like that (haha thats a trap; init7.net)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • NO, I have ISDN and I will stay on it

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Frownwarrior

Aug 8, 2022
Hello together

It's my first time here in the forum therefore I am not sure if my question belongs to the mainboard or to the HBA area.

My current old NAS consists of the following components:

I7 3770k, Asus Saberthooth Z78, 3x WD RED 4TB, 3x SSD, OS: OpenMediaVault

and has some software problems and is no longer available online.

Now I had the opportunity to benefit from a great deal.
7 brand new WD Red 4TB harddisk for the price of 35€ / disk. (YES per disc!)
So I have 7 new hard disks. (I have not yet checked them in detai, but I think they are SMR models but for the price I really do not care).

Since the effort to solve the software problems on my current NAS, (for me as a total noob), are very high, I decided to build a completely new NAS and use the old one as a backup.

The old NAS had relatively few hard drives, I did not think much about the data throughput of the chipset. But now it looks different with 7 disks. (possibly also 8)

I want to keep the costs as low as possible and try to buy used hardware wherever I see it as uncritical.
But with the motherboard it is difficult.

I have looked at the following motherboards:

AsRock x570 Pro4
AsRock x570 PG Velocita
AsRock x570 Steel Legend

All of them have 8 Sata ports which are directly connected to the chipset.
I know that in the past there were tests on platforms like Z87, where it was shown that the maximum data throughput was already reached with 2-3 SSD.