How to make the most of a 1.15Gbps (Gig1) Virgin Media ISP

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

carlpea

Oct 18, 2021
I have been trying to get this to work with mictotik and udm Pro I am getting the speeds but after 6 hours drops on Rx to one connect but tx carries on balancing. Then once I reboot sh4 again it works again so frustrating.

Any help would be very helpful
Is your HUB on firmware 01.02.065.21.EURO.PC20 ?

samk1992

Dec 28, 2021
Thought I'm gonna share my bonding results here using RB5009 connected to my PCs with 2.5Gbe network.

Can you guys go to the speedtest . net settings and switch to "Single" - what speeds now with the port bonding enabled?
Or try the one that comes up on google when you search speed test

Last edited:

jamieandrew1

Jan 4, 2022
UK
i am completely new to bonding with the virgin hub 4 i have the 1gbps package and would like to get the most out of it, can someone explain what i need to do and what accessories i will need on a budget to get this working?

samk1992

Dec 28, 2021
i am completely new to bonding with the virgin hub 4 i have the 1gbps package and would like to get the most out of it, can someone explain what i need to do and what accessories i will need on a budget to get this working?
In the simplest possible way: What you need is a router that supports balance-rr that has a single 2.5gbp or more network interface.
So, the two 1gbp ports will be bonded together connected to the modem and then the 2.5gbps port out to the rest of your network.

Im not convinced theres any way to do this 'on a budget' because its going to cost a minimum of a couple of a hundred quid.

An example setup could be: