Comparison: Intel i350-T4 Genuine vs Fake

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

DACmaddy

Nov 3, 2020
I am new to the Serve the Home forum, but I have been reading off and on for a while. The last time I bought used NIC's was in the Smoothwall Pentium II days. I received my DELL INTEL I350-T4 THGMP 4-PORT GIGABIT SERVER ADAPTER LOW PROFILE a few days ago via a seller on a popular auction site. I planned to use it in a non-critical HP T730 pfsense build in the next week or so. Crossed my fingers and prayed I would get a genuine used NIC on the cheap. However, it looks like some of the telltale signs of not-genuine are apparent. The NIC was supposed to have been pulled from a server, multiple NIC's were sold from the one listing. The auction pictures seem to indicate the NIC would be used and genuine.

Here are my observations:

1) Photo "nic - 09.jpg" ---> TXC crystal doesn't seem to match the one in the original post back in 2015
2) Photo "nic - 13.jpg" ---> terminals have minimal witness marks & the NIC looks brand new to me.
3) Photo "nic - 15.jpg" +++> heat sink height (size) looks OK
4) Photo "nic - 03.jpg" ---> low profile bracket was added on after "pull"?
5) Photo "nic - 08.jpg" ---> large inductor at the corner seems to be placed on the board slanted, perhaps reworked. Should have been a QC reject? It also doesn't match any I have seen.
6) Photo "nic - 11.jpg" ---> twin inductors seem different from ones in the original post back in 2015.
7) Photo "nic - 12.jpg" +++> word Delta seems to be molded into the ethernet transformers.
8) Photo "INTEL I350-T4 THGMP 4-PORT GIGABIT SERVER ADAPTER LP auction1.png" and "INTEL I350-T4 THGMP 4-PORT GIGABIT SERVER ADAPTER LP auction2".png ==> are screenshots - these are a lower resolution version of what I had to reference before buying. They seem to show a NIC that they was used, which is what I hoped to receive.