Project TinyMiniMicro: Reviving Small Corporate Desktops

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Geran

Oct 25, 2016
Has anyone found a good way to put these in a rack? (Other than just stacking them on a shelf.) I have a bunch of Dell OptiPlex 7040's that I've been using in my home lab. I'm at the point of wanting to start racking my equipment instead of everything being on a table. I'm just wondering if anyone has found a good clean looking rach mount solution for these mini and micro systems.
Here is an option: Lenovo Tiny 19" 1U Rack Mount by simbaja

cesmith9999

Mar 26, 2013
I like that. but I would almost do a shelf and stack them vertically like build-a-blade...

and put a couple of fans in front to push air through...

Chris

tinfoil3d

QSFP28
May 11, 2020
Japan
Hello. For complete newbies to the modern computers, are CPUs on these P330 tiny upgradable(removable)? Looking up i7-8700 on ark.intel they are Coffee Lake on FCLGA1151 which is probably same as LGA1151, which seems like a regular socket. Are these indeed swappable? Anyone ever tried Xeon-E CPUs in these lenovo 1lpcs? With ECC too maybe? Or maybe it's way too power-hungry?
I'm currently considering if I should go get a cheap config of P330 tiny and upgrade that with sfp+ hba, xeon and ecc sticks or would that be beyond 135w capacity.

Last edited:

newabc

Jan 20, 2019
I think the Project TinyMiniMicro also can consider the low power consumption boxes(less than 15 watts) with passmark around 2500-3500 like Wyse 5070(intel J4105 and J5005).

The low power ones can do light weight duty like web scraping and minor analyzing, and send big things into the bigger machines or cloud VMs for deeper analyzing.

armandh

Nov 21, 2020
St louis county mo
I have several, 3 of which are built on a slightly larger HP i5 platform
just right for a 3Tb mirror and a small SSD for the XigmaNAS OS and Swap file.