Fractal R2 XL with Server boards

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

LongTime

May 3, 2021
Hey, this is my first time building a server! I am planning to have server that has 2 x Intel E5 Xeon 2690-v4 on a Supermicro X10DRi motherboard. The issue stumbled to me that I don't think that my motherboard does not fit the case. The case is a Fractal Design XL R2. Does anyone have a solution or suggestion on a case that can make the motherboard fit?

kapone

May 23, 2015
umm.....yeah......Think about a proper server case to begin with.

zack$

Aug 16, 2018
I have a X10DRH-iT in the same case. It fits fine, what's your issue??

alex_stief

May 31, 2016
Been there, done that.
Either drill some new holes yourself, or just ignore the missing standoffs. Be careful when installing or swapping components on the board. The lack of support makes some regions rather bendy.
That's one of the reasons why I don't recommend Fractal cases for SSI-EEB boards. If you are looking for a cheap alternative that doesn't come with compatibility issues: Phanteks Enthoo Pro

LongTime

May 3, 2021
Been there, done that.
Either drill some new holes yourself, or just ignore the missing standoffs. Be careful when installing or swapping components on the board. The lack of support makes some regions rather bendy.
That's one of the reasons why I don't recommend Fractal cases for SSI-EEB boards. If you are looking for a cheap alternative that doesn't come with compatibility issues: Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Thank you for answer! Do you recommend any other cases that can house a SSI-EEB boards in it? An extended version (E-ATX)

alex_stief

May 31, 2016
There are a lot more cases that can physically fit SSI-EEB boards: PC-Gehäuse mit Formfaktor Mainboard: E-ATX (SSI EEB, 12"x13") Preisvergleich geizhals.eu EU