Performance / optimal setup for TrueNAS - long

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Networks101

Jul 10, 2020
Australia NSW
Hi All,
I’ll preface this with I’ve worked with large scale isilon, netapp, VMAX, etc solutions, mostly 5years + ago, and mostly focused about low latency high speed access + reliable access (supercompute storage + processing + 300
X 10G desktops accessing 40-80GB datasets + long term slower storage for archived projects)

But I’m a complete noob when it comes to freenas/truenas, likewise some of the recent tech I.e. nvme, pci based flash drives

I’m testing different configs at the moment, and wouldn’t mind some critiquing / suggestions as to what I can do better, and to assist with speed and expansion

That being said
* Dell R720 dual E5-2620 v0
* 128GB DDR3, ECC
* Onboard 2x10Gbps NDC
* Dell 12Gbps SAS HBA adapter - external, PCI3.0, installed in one of the x16 slots.
* Integrated H310 flashed to IT mode
* no name brand NVME to PCI convertor in x4 slot
* 500 GB Crucial P2 3D NAND NVME
* Dell MD1220 with 4 x Kingston 1TB SSD’s, 16 x 1.2TB 10k SAS former netapp drives (reformatted to 512 bytes)
4 x 3.5” 8TB WD 7200rpm sata drives - unconfigured at the moment
* TrueNas 12.x beta installed as a VM under ESXI 7.0
* both the sas HBA and the h310 are passed through to the VM (32GB, 12 vCPU), likewise the NVME card, however the system detects it just as a drive rather than the card
* have 1 x 10Gb port directly passed through to the VM, and 1 x 10G vNIC

IPerf shows 7.9Gbps with MTU of 1500, low 9’s for 9000.

Test PC is using a RAM drive rather than disk for the copying

TrueNAS is setup as follows

* 2 x vdev pools of 8 drives with z1
* L2ARC is using the Crucial NVME
* 2 x 1TB SSD in raid 0 for log drive
* 1 x 1TB SSD as the dedup drive (not sure this actually does anything )