Lightmatter Mars SoC AI Inference Using Light

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

niekbergboer

Jun 21, 2016
Switzerland
Now this is something extremely interesting! We've all seen it: electronics like this, electronics like that, electronics with these gates and with those gates, with a rainbow and a unicorn...

... but THIS is something completely new in terms of an actual implementation! I studied physics in the 90s, and they were already talking/dreaming about this: it would be revolutionary. Of course, all we had were ideas of chewing-gum/duct-tape setups in the lab. I am stoked to see an actual _chip_ in the field!

funkywizard

mmm.... bandwidth.
Jan 15, 2017
USA
ioflood.com
Now this is something extremely interesting! We've all seen it: electronics like this, electronics like that, electronics with these gates and with those gates, with a rainbow and a unicorn...

... but THIS is something completely new in terms of an actual implementation! I studied physics in the 90s, and they were already talking/dreaming about this: it would be revolutionary. Of course, all we had were ideas of chewing-gum/duct-tape setups in the lab. I am stoked to see an actual _chip_ in the field!
Yes, exactly. And I think AI gives the perfect excuse for doing it, as you have a massive amount of one type of calculation that needs to be performed across a large swath of data. Even when the calculations need to change a little, say, different weights, it's still all the same matrix math. So it lends itself very well to a scenario where you need to perform a huge amount of "dumb" calculations across a lot of data.