Drag to reposition cover

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
May 1, 2020
I'm rather new to SFP+ and this grade of switch but I'm thinking of grabbing one of the ICX6450 for the fun of testing and playing with 10G over Cat6a. Also having PoE would let me toss (in a backup bin) the injectors that came with my Unifi APs and clean up my cabinet a little.

Are switches, particularly these ones, very strict on matching brands of SFP+ adapters? The cheapest 10Gbase-T adapters I found are in this ebay listing for $35. They look to be from this site and this particular listing, which has them as Cisco compatible adapters and they have a separate listing for Brocade adapters.

I skimmed the thread (I hope that I can be forgiven for not reading all 177 pages/3525 comments :p) and saw that you should be able to use any fiber adapter but you'd likely lose signal strength and temperature readings. Does the same hold true for RJ45 adapters? I could see temperature being important to be able to see if I end up doing any of the fan mods that are mentioned, but I'm not sure how much signal strength would let me debug my cable runs unless it gives more detail like interference or some other metric that would let me know if I botched my wiring/punchdowns.

Also I haven't seen a mention of FS on the main STH page (the 10Gbase-T guide notably doesn't mention them), so I'm also curious what the community consensus is on them.

blinkenlights

May 24, 2019
Are switches, particularly these ones, very strict on matching brands of SFP+ adapters? The cheapest 10Gbase-T adapters I found are in this ebay listing for $35. They look to be from this site and this particular listing, which has them as Cisco compatible adapters and they have a separate listing for Brocade adapters.