Guide: Flashing H310/H710/H810 Mini & full size to IT Mode

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

fourlynx

Aug 15, 2018
Just one thing is changed, after the flash the led on the hdd tray are all off, is there a way to have the led work again? Did this happened to anyone?
You should still get the activity led to flicker on disk activity. The health led will not work as the IT-mode firmware doesn't know how to drive it.

Reactions: fohdeesha

JackAss

Mar 24, 2020
Hi fourlynx,
thanks for your reply, yes I checked yesterday and the disk activity led are working, I would have liked also the health led (I think one of the disk have problem...) but the more I'm studying the IR-IT mode difference and more I understand how those thing work (I'm starting my home lab so I'm learning a lot reading here and from every tutorial I can find on internet!

BTW I flashed the H710 with IT-mode firmware without flashing the BIOS, and (I suppose it is expected...) the iDRAC does not see anymore the card (every voice state "RAC0503: There are no out-of-band capable controllers to be displayed", I would like, if possible, to at least see the card in the iDRAC, could flashing the BIOS help with this? (I'm asking beacusa I saw on youtube a video of a H310 flashed with IT firmware that was showing in iDRAC...)

Reactions: junkyinny

fourlynx

Aug 15, 2018
If you have not flashed the bootrom, you should simply not have any prompt during bootup. Having the bootrom installed can add several minutes to the startup time as every drive needs to be spun up and read.

Bootrom presence is unrelated to the presence of the card in the iDRAC web panel. The LSI firmware doesn't know it needs to talk to the iDRAC, only the stock Dell firmware does. It is therefore normal to not have OOB channels when using an H710 in IT mode.

JackAss

Mar 24, 2020