Help me understand LC module compatibility

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Atlantic

Jan 30, 2020
Hello STH. I'm just getting started with a home server and hit a stumbling block that I could do some help with.

I bought some mismatched 10G nics for peer to peer over DAC between my r720 server and clients. Works fine. Now I need more distance so want to try fibre so bought another chelsio card that came with LC transceivers, and some fibre cable. But I couldn't get that to work. Transceivers are Brocade and I can see Freenas saying 'unknown PNY inserted' when I slot them in the card.

I assumed the fiber port was an open standard and that any transceiver would work, as long as it was the same speed. Is that not the case? Are they specific to a brand of card?

NICs are chelsio and Solar flare. What modules do I need to get, or will mismatched cards not work at all with fiber?

Thx

fohdeesha

Kaini Industries
Nov 20, 2016
fohdeesha.com
some NIC vendors like chelsio and intel hate freedom, and lock their cards so they will only work with their own brand of optics transceivers inserted. The chelsio card wants a chelsio optic. These vendors are going to burn in the afterlife, and it's one of the numerous reasons almost everyone here prefers mellanox for most things as they're the same price and have no such arbitrary limitations. Mellanox support in freenas has been flawless for a while now, 40gbE connect x3's are down to around ~$35

Reactions: Atlantic

fohdeesha

Kaini Industries
Nov 20, 2016
fohdeesha.com