Quick first time buyer question

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

nalyD

Dec 26, 2019
I want to start a home NAS and I've had plenty of experience at work buying and configuring prebuilt Dell servers and the likes, but I can't say I've ever on my own had to buy a RAID controller that didn't come in a prebuilt system already. The sticky in this forum has been a huge help because the regular model numbers without knowing the internal controller is a mess.

I considered a Z-RAID2 but my particular scenario will be with 5x5TB Toshiba drives, so no TLER/ERC to benefit from using an HBA instead, and RAID6 will let me be more platform agnostic if I decide to run Windows.

all of that said, does this Dell H710 look like a solid deal?

Reactions: nikalai

nikalai

Oct 26, 2018
Hello,

It would be better to give direct acces for your disk and not use RAID to prevent some issues.
Look for DEll H200 / DELL H310 | LSI 9207-8i / LASI 9211-8i. You can find them on ebay and some of them are preflashed with IT firmware.
Do you want to use FREENAS?

Marsh

May 12, 2013
What is the purpose of your NAS?

Media files
VM storage
General purpose files

nalyD

Dec 26, 2019
Hello,

It would be better to give direct acces for your disk and not use RAID to prevent some issues.
Look for DEll H200 / DELL H310 | LSI 9207-8i / LASI 9211-8i. You can find them on ebay and some of them are preflashed with IT firmware.
Do you want to use FREENAS?
I haven't decided on the OS/final setup yet. I might use FREENAS.

Do you think the direct disk access still holds true even with no TLER/ERC? From what I've been reading that seems to be the primary benefit of using Z-RAID over hardware RAID

What is the purpose of your NAS?

Media files
VM storage
General purpose files